Nahargarh Fort

From Wikitravelia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Nahargarh Fort, also known as the ‘abode of tigers’, stands on the edge of the Aravalli Hills, overlooking the city of Jaipur in the Indian state of Rajasthan. Along with Amer Fort and Jaigarh Fort, Nahargarh once formed a strong defense ring for the city.

Nahargarh Fort


The fort was built mainly in 1734 by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh, the king of Jaipur. The fort was constructed as a place of retreat on the summit of the ridge above the city. Walls extended over the surrounding hills, forming fortifications that connected this fort to Jaigarh, the fort above the old capital of Amber.

During the Indian Mutiny of 1857, the Europeans of the region, including the British Resident’s wife, were moved to Nahargarh fort by the king of Jaipur, Sawai Ram Singh, for their protection. The fort was extended in 1868, during the reign of Sawai Ram Singh.

In 1883-92, a range of palaces was built at Nahargarh by Dirgh Patel at a cost of nearly three and a half lakh rupees. The Madhavendra Bhawan, built by Sawai Madho Singh had suites for the queens of Jaipur, and at the head was a suite for the king himself. The rooms are linked by corridors and still have some delicate frescoes.


The fort is built in an Indo-European style, with some stunning structures inside. Two rows of fortifications guard this hilltop retreat from the outside. The main entrance to the fort is called Tadi Gate. The shrine for Nahar Singh Bhomia is located close to the entrance. In 1868, the fort complex was extended by Maharaja Sawai Ram Singh II. After about two decades, Nahargarh was significantly remodeled by Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh II.